Skip Nav
ROE # 17 Moved! Our address is 201 E. Grove Street, Suite 300, Bloomington, IL 61701

Diverse Leader Network (DLN)

The Diverse Leader Network (DLN) originated from the Advance Illinois Educator Pipeline Group and received support from the W. Clement & Jessie V. Stone Foundation. DLN is designed to mobilize a statewide collective focused on strategies for recruitment, development, placement, and retention of a leadership pipeline of district and school leaders that reflects the diversity of students in the state. 


The following is the problem statement and goal developed by the DLN. 


Problem Statement: Among in-state and out-of-state teachers of color, there is a lack of interest in leadership opportunities, a lack of incentives to become a leader, a lack of clarity around the experiences necessary to become a leader, and a lack of support (and/or knowledge about existing supports) necessary to enter and stay in the teacher leader and principal profession.  These supports include school, district, and community supports. 


Goal: “By June 15th, we will have developed a Call to Action that includes state recommendations designed to increase the number and diversity of principal candidates entering and staying in the profession.”


The Diverse Leader Network (DLN) is made up of advocates, institutions, educators, and agency leaders. 


Members of DLN Partner Organizations and Individuals






Erika Hunt, Chair

LEAD Hub at ROE #17

Cynthia Barron, Chair   

EdD Urban Ed Leadership, UIC

Patrick Rice, Staff

Black Educator Advocacy Coalition

Marty McGreal


Ernesto Matias


Sean Banks

Hunt Institute

Diana Zaleski

Illinois Education Association

Rachel Roegman

College of Ed, UIUC

Jim O’Connor

Advance Illinois

David Ardrey

Assoc. of IL Rural and Small Schools

Paul Bruno

College of Ed, UIUC

Edwin Monarrez

College of Ed, UIUC

Elizabeth  Alvarez

IL Assoc of Latino Admin and Superintendents  

Shyla Kinhal

Leading Educators

Mark Klaisner

Illinois Assoc of Regional Superintendents of Schools

Nakia Hall

Illinois Association of School Board Association

Laurie Elish-Piper

College of Education, NIU

Dana Butler

Illinois Principals Association

Sue Homes

Illinois Principals Association

Darlene Ruscitti

DuPage ROE

Pallavi Abraham

Teachers Supporting Teachers

Jamar Scott

Springfield District #186

Ed Howerton

IL Council of Professors of Ed Admin

Devin McFarland

Dept of Principal Quality, CPS

Mike Herring

Talent Management, CPS

Beulah McCloyd

New Leaders

Lisa Skelly

Lead Hub at ROE #17