Got a Job? Get a Work Permit! It's the Law.
To protect the safety of Illinois teenagers, and place a priority on their education, minors aged 14 or 15 may work, but not without first obtaining an Employment Certificate from their local high school or school administration office 820 ILCS 205/9-12. If you are over 16 the State of Illinois does not require a Work Permit but your employer may still request one.
To Obtain a Work Permit from ROE # 17:
- First, see if your school building issues work permits for their students. Most high school and junior high schools have a Designated Issuing Officer. If your school has a Designated Issuing Officer, you should go through them.
CLICK HERE FOR A LIST OF OUR DISTRICTS & DESIGNATED ISSUING OFFICERS.
If your school does not have a Designated Issuing Officer, ROE # 17 would be happy to assist you.
Please note: ROE # 17 can only issue work permits for minors in the four-country region we serve.
- Contact Marisa Larkin at 309-888-5120 or email ([email protected]) to set up a time to turn in all of your documentation and receive your permit. Note: There is an option to video conference, teleconference, or meet in person.
Required documentation to Issue Employment Certificates:
- Application - Click here to download ROE # 17's Application for Work Permit for a Minor.
- Intention to Employ Letter: A written statement by the employer, on their letterhead with work description and schedule signed by the employer or agent.
- Proof of Age Documents: examples include a birth certificate (original or certified) or a state ID.
- Medical Statement: A written statement from a physician confirming the minor is physically fit to be employed in all legal occupations.
- Principal's Statement: If the child applicant is over six years of age, the applicant's home school must supply a letter on school letterhead and verified by the principal stating the minor is a full-time student and the hours the child is in school. The statement should include the minor's name, address, social security number, grade last completed, and the names of the parents/legal guardians.
- An affidavit must be provided if the applicant's name on the employer's letter differs from the documents on the proof of age.
Work Permits for Minors Upload
What hours can a minor legally work?
A 14 or 15 year old minor may NOT work:
- before 7 a.m.
- after 7 p.m. between Labor Day and June 1.
- after 9 p.m. June 1 through Labor Day.
- more than 8 hours when combining school and work hours.
- more than 24 hours during school weeks.
- more than 48 hours during non-school weeks.
- more than six days per week.
More information can be found at: